

722 12th Street N.W.

Fourth Floor

Washington, D.C.

20005

T: (202)785-0266

F:(202)785-0261

www.atr.org





May 14, 2010

The Honorable Tom Coburn, M.D. 172 Russell Senate Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Coburn,

We write to endorse and encourage your colleagues to co-sponsor and otherwise support the Earmark Transparency Act of 2010, a responsible answer to the reckless spending habits of Congress.

While recent efforts have been made to increase transparency in the pork-barreling process, these steps have fallen far short of true accountability. The Appropriations Committees in both chambers currently require earmarks be posted to members' websites, but the information displayed varies widely in utility and comprehensiveness. What's more, Senators are only required to maintain the information for the 30 days after the bill passes.

Your bill requires all earmark requests to be published online in a clearly accessible format. It also demands that details on the intent and sponsor of the request be provided, along with the bill information to which the earmark is attached.

The Earmark Transparency Act of 2010 would also require earmark requests to be available to taxpayers before votes are taken. This ensures taxpayers will have an opportunity to voice concern over their representatives' spending habits.

Momentum has been growing across the country for greater transparency of government spending at all levels. Federal earmarks, which waste billions of taxpayers' hard-earned dollars each year, should be at the center of targeted reform efforts.

This bill mirrors the President's request that earmark reform be made a priority by this Congress. Members should demonstrate a firm commitment to transparency by supporting this measure. Thus, the Center for Fiscal Accountability strongly supports the Earmark Transparency Act of 2010 and urges your fellow Senators to co-sponsor and otherwise support the bill.

Sincerely,

Grover Norquist President Americans for Tax Reform

Janara -

Sandra Fabry Executive Director Center for Fiscal Accountability

Cc: All Members of the United States Senate